top of page

Search Results

391 results found with an empty search

  • Post Office - West Side | Manfred Updated

    Post Office Location: Block 3 – Lot 5 Postmasters: see list below Year Started: ca 1908 Year Ended: 1915 History of Business: The first Post Office was located in the first mercantile store run by Lars Burkum. The post office was also located in the C. C. Melby Store, and the building featured in this article is the building north of the C. C. Melby Store. This building was moved to the location above in 1908. Ole Ranum purchased the building across the street in 1915 for the Post Office. On May 3, 1894, Thorstein K. Rogne was installed as the first Postmaster in Manfred. He was followed by Issac L. Berge in March 1900; Swan N. Willborg, March 1902; Axel LeGrand, November 1906, George Gilbertson, May 1911; Gertrude LeGrand, March 22, 1912; Ole Ranum, January 1914, Ernest Braaten, February 1, 1921; Jerret Biever, April 1925. Oscar Ongstad purchased the Bank Building when he became postmaster in 1944 and this building was used until the post office was closed in October 1992. Edgar Flick was postmaster from 1964 to 1992.

  • Dingman, J. B. and Frances | Manfred Updated

    James B. and Frances Dingman James B. and Frances Dingman Husband's Full Name: James B. Dingman Husband's Place of Birth: Kansas Husband's Father's Name: Richard R. Dingman Husband's Mother's Name: Nancy Lenora Gabriel Husband's Siblings' Names: unknown Wife's Full Name: Frances Foley Wife's Place of Birth: Atlanta, Illinois Wife's Father's Name: unknown Wife's Mother's Name: unknown Wife's Siblings' Names: unknown Children's Names: none J. B. Dingman took possession of the shaving department of the Hotel Johnson Annex in November 1906. He was a popular city barber. By November 1908 he opened a barbershop equipped with everything modern science requires for health and the convenience of its customers in the Johnson Place, the new pool hall. He also was the correspondent for the Manfred News column, writing in a very colorful manner. He began this position in March of 1907. 1 Jan 1907 - Mrs. J. B., Dingman, wife of our esteemed tonsorial artist, arrived here from Minneapolis last Monday and they have gone to housekeeping in the Sorenson Building. Manfred is slowly coming to the front as a town of some importance and a permanent barber is a long step in the right direction. [written by S. O. Grane, the previous correspondent] 7 Mar 1909 – The Building season has already opened and we call it an early opening indeed. The man who is to start the growth of Manfred this season is J. B. Dingman, our popular barber, who is building a new house in the east end of town. There is room for more, let the good work go on. It was 28 April 1911 that this article was in the county paper. The Grim Reaper made a call Saturday morning at the home of J. B. Dingman and called to the Great Beyond the loving wife, after a long and vain struggle against the incurable disease, tuberculosis. She had been sick for quite awhile and everything had been done to resist the sickness and prolong life, but to no avail. Mrs. Dingman, whose maiden name was Frances Foley was born at Atlanta, Illinois, and reached the age of 34 years, 2 months and 8 days. She had lived in Manfred four years and during that time she had made everybody a friend whom she came in contact with. She was of a cheerful and hopeful disposition always ready and willing to aid and cheer. All of life’s changes she met with courage and patience. The many friends in town brought and placed a very beautiful wreath of roses on her coffin as a small token of the esteem in which she was held. Numbers of people from both town and country followed her to her last resting place in the Manfred cemetery. She leaves a husband who has the sympathy of the community in his bereavement. So J. B. Dingman lost his mate. Apparently he kept active in the community in various ways. The Growing with Pride book of Harvey history reports that he was the director of the Harvey Junior Band. In March of 1918, he was one of the organizers of the Modern Woodmen of America, Camp No 13540. It was J. B. Dingman who painted the Renden Blacksmith Shop in June of 1918. There is no census record of his whereabouts in 1920, but by 1930 he had moved to Los Angeles, California and lived there until he passed away in 1947.

  • Ranum, Juel and Guri | Manfred Updated

    Juel and Guri Ranum Husband's Full Name: Juel Ole Ranum Husband's Place of Birth: Stokkebryn, Nord Aurdal, Valdres, Norway Husband's Father's Name: Ole Olson Husband's Mother's Name: Ingrid Gundersdatter Bjogum Husband's Siblings' Names: Juel was the youngest of 10 children Wife's Full Name: Guri Gulbransdatter Ranum Wife's Place of Birth: Oystre Slidre, Valdres, Norway Wife's Father's Name: Gulbrand Thorsen Wife's Mother's Name: Kari Olsdatter Wife's Siblings' Names: unknown Child's Name: Ole Juel Ranum Juel and Guri were married in 1858 in Valdres, Norway. They had one son, Ole Juelson, who was born in Nord Aurdal, Valdres, Norway. Juel, Guri, and Ole immigrated to America in 1870, when Ole was eleven years old. John and Julia became their Americanized names. They first lived in Winona County, MN for four years, then three years in Northfield, MN after which they took a homestead in Lyon County, MN near Ghent and later lived at Cottonwood. These were the years when the scythe and cradle were still being used in the harvesting of wheat. In 1909 they settled at Manfred, ND and were members of the Vang Lutheran Church. On July 20, 1916, Thursday morning at 7 a.m. Juel Ranum passed to the Great Beyond, as was reported by the Manfred Correspondent of the Harvey Herald. The funeral took place Friday forenoon. Rev. Langseth preaching the funeral sermon to a large number of relatives and friends, who had gathered to show their last respects to the deceased. He was laid to rest in Manfred cemetery besides his grandson. Jul Ranum was born in Nord Aurdal, Valdres, August 19, 1836, and came to this country 46 years ago. He then spent 3 years in Northfield, MN after which he moved to Lyon County and took up a homestead, and there went through the hardships incidental to the pioneer settlers of Minnesota, and resided there until six years ago when he moved to Manfred to pass his last days here. He suffered from heart trouble since last fall, but was able to be around at times. He bore his last illness with patience and courage and was tenderly nursed by his faithful wife, with whom he had lived in happy wedlock for 58 years. He leaves besides his wife, who is 78 years of age, one son, Ole Ranum, postmaster of Manfred, four grandchildren and four great-grandchildren to mourn his loss.

  • Elton, Magnus and Anna | Manfred Updated

    Magnus and Anna Elton Husband's Full Name: Magnus Elton (married in 1922) Husband's Place of Birth: Stange, Hedmark, Norway Husband's Father's Name: unknown Husband's Mother's Name: unknown Husband's Siblings' Names: unknown Wife's Full Name: Anna Braaten Wife's Place of Birth: Valdres, Norway 1st husband: Ole O. Melby (died in 1908) Wife's Father's Name: unknown Wife's Mother's Name: unknown Wife's Siblings' Names: unknown Adopted Children's Names: Lillian Melby Wolf, Lester and Kenneth Melby The Elton’s farmed north of Manfred. They immigrated to America from Norway. They were members of the Vang Lutheran Church. Anna was first married to Ole O. Melby, also born in Norway. They lived in Wanamingo, Goodhue, Minnesota according to the 1885 census. He died in 1908 and was buried at Vang Cemetery. Both Magnus and Anna were buried at Vang Cemetery.

  • Olson, Carl and Bertha | Manfred Updated

    Carl and Bertha Olson Husband's Full Name: Carl H. Olson Husband's Place of Birth: Elgin, Iowa Husband's Father's Name: Hans Olson Kilboe Husband's Mother's Name: Sigrid Knutson Husband's Siblings' Names: unknown Wife's Full Name: Bertha Hauge Olson Wife's Place of Birth: Stavanger, Norway Wife's Father's Name: Torger Hauge Wife's Mother's Name: Brita Jarge Hauge Wife's Siblings' Names: Leif, Martha (Foningslan), John (Engel B. Lenning), Torger (Anna Erfjord), Andrew (Gena Shefveland), Leif Children's Names: Olia (Ludvig Mathieson), Henry (Cora Bloom), Bella (Minor Brevik), Celia (Gilbert Lindbo), Thilda (Clarence Nelson, Lou Machall), John (Irene Mittlitter), Talmer (Myrtle Thompson, Elsie Rothacker), Alice (Noble Lockrem) Bertha Hauge arrived in the United States all alone at the age of 14. A lady who lived in Norway couldn't use the ticket gave it to Bertha. Bertha used the lady’s name while she was traveling. A couple of years later Bertha's entire family arrived in the United States. Bertha’s brother Leif was a ship captain. He, his wife and daughter perished in the San Francisco Earthquake of 1906. Carl Olson was born in Iowa. His parents came from Norway and settled somewhere around Elgin, Iowa. Carl played the violin and he made at least 5 violins in his lifetime. When his daughter Bella Brevik was in North Dakota in 1947 her father (Carl Olson) had just finished his last violin and he played in tune. She said that was “pretty neat”. Bertha married Carl Olson on July 17, 1894 in Buxton, ND. They moved to the Manfred, ND area and farmed 4 miles north of Manfred, this later was the home of their son Talmer Olson and his family.

  • Sommer, Vernon and Elizabeth | Manfred Updated

    Vernon and Elizabeth Sommer Husband's Full Name: Vernon A. Sommer Husband's Place of Birth: Courtland, Nicollet, Minnesota Husband's Father's Name: Frank Albert Sommer Husband's Mother's Name: Emma Louise Schroeder Husband's Siblings' Names: Sylvia, Eldon, Edwin, Marvin Wife's Full Name: Elizabeth Lillian Fuhrman Wife's Place of Birth: Minnesota Wife's Father's Name: John Fuhrman Wife's Mother's Name: Caroline Dietrich Wife's Siblings' Names: Johanna, Julius, Edward, Louis, Pauline, Ida, August, Benjamin, Emily, Walter, Peter, Margaret, Robert Children's Names: Jane Ellen Sommer (Faul) Vernon was the son of Frank and Emma Louise (Schroeder) Sommer. They lived for a time at Courtland, MN before moving to a farm in the Manfred area in 1917. He grew up and attended rural school in the Manfred area. He married Elizabeth Fuhrman on March 15, 1939 in the Methodist Church in Harvey. They lived and farmed east of Harvey. He retired in 1972. They moved to Harvey in 1987. Vernon attended the Bethel Baptist Church in Harvey. Sharing in Vernon's life were Elizabeth, his wife of 57 years; one daughter and one son-in-law, Jane and Ron Faul of rural Hurdsfield, ND; three grandchildren Brenda Neufeld, DeeAnn Wichter and Don Faul, 6 great-grandchildren, Carissa and Caleb Neufeld, Erica and Neil Wichert, Adam and Jessica Faul. He was preceded in death by his parents; sister, Sylvia Kuske; brothers Eldon, Edwin and Marvin,

  • Olstad, Edwin and Celia | Manfred Updated

    Edwin and Celia Olstad Husband's Full Name: Edwin Olstad Husband's Place of Birth: Heimdal Township, North Dakota Husband's Father's Name: John Theodore Olstad Husband's Mother's Name: Alena Larson Husband's Siblings' Names: Henry, Clara Rolsvig, Hilda Shield, Hazel Bjertness, Joseph, Tilman, Morris (Helen), Tillman, Norin (Vera), Edna (Martin) Lien Wife's Full Name: Celia Natland Olstad Wife's Place of Birth: Manfred Township Wife's Father's Name: Lars Natland Wife's Mother's Name: Tomine Erfjord Wife's Siblings' Names: Sam, Hannah Nedervold, Selmer, Lyness, Myrtle Thompson Ed Olstad was born and raised on the family farm in Heimdal Township, Wells County, and received his education in the Heimdal Township Country School. As a young man he worked as a farm laborer for a number of farmers in the Manfred area. He later enlisted in the U.S. Army during WWI and served in the U.S. Cavalry. Upon being discharged he returned to the Manfred area and continued as a farm laborer for a few years. In 1918, he enlisted in the U. S. Army during World War I and served in the U. S. Cavalry. In the early 1930s he began working on road construction crews throughout the State as a heavy equipment operator. On May 7, 1938 he married Celia Natland in Williston. Celia was born and raised in the Manfred area. They bought their home in Manfred in 1946 from Nennie Johnson's estate. Ed lived there until 1979, and Celia until 1966. They were members of Vang Lutheran Church. Ed made beautiful jewelry from stones he polished in his workshop just back of the kitchen. Mrs. Olstad died in 1971; Edwin continued living in Manfred until 1979 when he moved to Hurdsfield where he resided until January 1982. He was living in Harvey at the time of his death, April 10, 1982 age of 82.

  • Shirley Implement Shop | Manfred Updated

    Shirley Implement Location: Block 4, Lot 8 Proprietors: Gilman and Adolph Shirley Year Started: 1925 Year Ended: 1933 History of Business: On December 1925 John Nelson sold his Manfred Implement House to Gilman and Adolph Shirley. In April 1926, the Standard Oil Co. installed a gas pump at the Shirley Bros. It was reported a good location as it was on the main highway. After several years they sold their building and lot to Richard Jorstad who opened a repair shop at that location in 1933. The Shirley brothers moved back to their farm in October 1934. Daisy – Shirley Implement Reference points: Red rectangle - Manfred School Blue rectangle - Vang Lutheran Church Purple rectangle – Post Office/Bank Green rectangle – Solheim Station

  • Sorenson, Benjamin and Maggie | Manfred Updated

    Benjamin and Maggie Sorenson Husband's Full Name: Benjamin Sorenson Husband's Place of Birth: Telemark, Norway Husband's Father's Name: Lars Sorenson Husband's Mother's Name: unknown Husband's Siblings' Names: Sofie, Bergette, Alette, Knudt Wife's Full Name: Maggie Kison Wife's Place of Birth: Yankton, South Dakota Wife's Father's Name: Enoch Kison Wife's Mother's Name: Karoline Kroll Wife's Siblings' Names: Ida, Mathilda Children's Names: Edwin (Stella); Beatrice, Peter Ben and Maggie Sorenson were a young, energetic couple who came to Manfred about 1905 while Manfred was just beginning to flourish. Ben came to America when he was 18 years old. He attended Luther College at Decorah, IA soon after he came to this country. He later came to Wells County settling near Viking starting work at anything he could find. He dug wells, did carpenter work, and for a time erected houses for Native Americans at the Fort Totten Reservation. He came to Fessenden in 1896 clerking at the Viking Store for about three years. At that time he bought a store in Manfred, he continued working with this business and continued to conduct with success until his death. He married Margaret Kison at the time of going into business for himself. In September 1905 Maggie opened a millinery shop next to her husband’s business in a building formerly occupied as a hotel. It was said that Mrs. Sorenson was just the person to conduct this business successfully, as she had considerable experience in that line and her aptitude for such work was well known.” She died in the fall of 1907 of tuberculosis. The following year Ben made a trip to Norway and while there he was taken sick. After returning he was confined to the hospital and just months later he died of tuberculosis. They had three children, a son Edwin, who was five years old when his mother died, and seven years old when his father died. The other children died as infants. Ben died in 1908, he was 37 years old. His wife died in 1907, she was 26 years old. Steiner Aasand, Ben’s good friend and business associate was named guardian for young Edwin. Bergette Sorenson, Ben’s sister came from Norway. The two were married at Vang Lutheran Church and raised Edwin as their son.

  • Post Office | Manfred Updated

    Post Office Location: Block 3, Lot 6 Post Masters: Oscar Ongstad, Edgar Flick Year Started: 1944 at this location Year Ended: 1992 History of Business: Oscar Ongstad bought the bank building when he was appointed postmaster at Manfred in 1944. He retired in 1962. At that time Marlys Koenig became acting postmaster and in 1964 Edgar A. Flick was appointed postmaster. He remained in that position until the post office was closed in October 1992. Edgar is a descendent of T. K. Rogne, the first postmaster in Manfred. Daisy – Post Office Reference points: Red rectangle - Manfred School Blue rectangle - Vang Lutheran Church Purple rectangle – Post Office/Bank Green rectangle – Solheim Station

  • Tansem, Olaf and Sarah | Manfred Updated

    Olaf and Sarah Tansem Husband's Full Name: Olaf Emil Tansem Husband's Place of Birth: Minnesota Husband's Father's Name: John O.Tansem Husband's Mother's Name: Caroline Tansem Husband's Siblings' Names: Brigitte, Christian, John Petter Wife's Full Name: Sarah LeGrand, and Sadie Moore Wife's Place of Birth: Skara, Ostergotlama, Sweden Wife's Father's Name: Joseph LeGrand Wife's Mother's Name: Anna Lindstrom Wife's Siblings: Axel, Esther, Inez, David, Hulda, Gertrude, Harry, Clara Children's Names: Hjalmer, Eva Ruth, Clifford, Daphne, Edna Olaf is the man on the early picture in the sailboat with the photographer about 1900, see photo to the right. The 1880 census says he was born in Minnesota. He is listed in the 1900 census of Manfred Township. Olaf was a blacksmith and a farmer. He worked for Jens Renden and managed the Renden Blacksmith Shop. Mr. Tansem homesteaded northeast of Balfour in 1902 and in 1933 rented his farm and moved to Velva. He is buried at the Vang Cemetery north of Manfred.

  • Humble Beginnings | Manfred Updated

    Humble Beginnings Soo Line Railroad Attracts Settlers It was the coming of the Soo Line Railroad that brought home seekers to Wells County. Settlers had arrived before the eighties in the Sykeston area. The first general election in Wells County, Dakota Territory was held at Sykeston, November 4, 1884. The main issue was the location of the county seat. In those early years, the site of Manfred was known as the James River Crossing of the Mouse River Trail. The Manfred Post Office was established May 3, 1894, with Mr. T. K. Rogne as postmaster. Strength of Character The early settlers were of hardy stock. They were courageous, people of conscience. To practice their religion, they were willing to sacrifice and risk funds. They were energetic and inventive. Grueling tasks were merely challenges and they knew how to make crude substitutes for tools, equipment, clothing and materials they lacked. The majority of them had great physical endurance – men and women of character and vision. Without these qualities they bounties of nature would have been of little value. Enjoying the Company of Friends The spirit of kinship, congeniality and helpfulness existed among the pioneers. Fun parities that lasted until dawn were held in various homes, especially during the Christmas season. Neighbors took turns when social events were the order of the day. Christmas tree programs were well attended. Generally, a pastor was present to deliver the ever-beautiful Christmas Gospel Story. Children would speak pieces, and the audience joined in singing Christmas hymns and carols. A barrel of luscious, sweet-smelling apples served as refreshments. Season’s greetings and pleasantries were exchanged. The spirit of good will was easily felt. Popular places for social gatherings were in the various homes of Ladies Aid embers who met once a month. It was quite an ordeal for the hostess to make the necessary preparations. First a thorough housecleaning had to be done. Unused items were taken out to make more room in crowded quarters of the modest homes; then came several days of preparing for the feast to be served. Whole families attended, fathers and mothers with children wrapped in quilts arrived in bobsleds to enjoy the social doings. In summer, buggies and wagons were modes of travel. After the ladies' aid business session was completed, the guests were invited to be seated at long tables decked out in white tablecloths, and fairly groaning with innumerable varieties of foods and Norwegian pastries, lefse and rømmegrøt. The children waited impatiently for their turn at the second table setting. Fashion of the Time Skirts were floor-length, wide at the bottom with stiffening and bindings to hold them out. Shirtwaists in pretty striped percales were good standbys. Sailor hats were quite the rage, as were the large be-ribboned gaily flowered creations of the period. Elbow length capes trimmed with rich, heavy lace and rows of shining braid added chic to the costume. Men as a rule were bewhiskered and wore derby hats while still white bosom shirts were the style. Watch chains fashioned of human hair, crocheted and finished in gold settings were proudly displayed by young men – generally gifts from their best girlfriends. Growing boys wore knee pants. Generations of Loyalty The first generation of pioneers who settled in Manfred Township have long since gone to their reward. The majority of farmsteads are owned and operated by second and third generations who continue tilling the good earth, which has produced these many years. When we look back across the years, we are reminded of the high hopes, the stunning disappointments, the heroic struggles pioneers endured, we realize that every food of the soil was hallowed with tears and toil and prayers. Source: Chapter Excerpt from Pioneer History of Wells County Author: Sennev Nertrost Whipple Date: March 1966

bottom of page