top of page

Search Results

391 results found with an empty search

  • Solheim Station | Manfred Updated

    Solheim Station 1894 - The first business in Manfred, Smith and Rogers Lumber Co was managed by Gullik Nordtorp from 1894-1899, and was located near Gullik's stone house. 1908 - Rogers Lumber Co in its second location closer to the railroad tracks.Rogers Lumber closed in 1932. 1933 - The Rogers Lumber building after being purchased by Rudolph Peterson and moved to the east side of Manfred. Peterson remodeled the building for use as a filling station. 1938 - Service station with owner, Rudolph Peterson from 1933-1942. 1945 - Helmer Solheim bought the gas station. 1947 - Service station with Helmer Solheim, owner 1945-1969. 1969 - Helmer Solheim sold the station to Ted Jorstad who operated it until 1974. The building was then purchased by Delbert Rask for a garage, and later by Harry Detling. 2003 - Audrey Solheim (pictured) purchased the building. 2004 - A steel roof was added. 2005 - The exterior was painted. It was restored to the look from 1945-1969 when Audrey's father, Helmer, owned and operated the gas station. 2015 - The top decorative caps were rebuilt. The building was started to be repainted which is an ongoing project. Future Plans: Stabilization and straightening of the wooden frame Restoration of the front entry

  • Businesses | Manfred Updated

    Businesses of Manfred Manfred was home to many businesses over the years. Click on one below to learn more about it. A A and B Motive Co. Aasand Hardware Store Anderson-Melby Motor Co. Anderson Drug Store Anderson Livery B Blacksmith and Wheelwright Burkum Store C C. C. Melby Store Confectionary D Dahle Blacksmith E Elevators F First State Bank H Harness and Shoe Shop Helland Electric Hotel Dacotah Hotel Johnson J Joe Biever Machinery Johnson's Place K Kodalen Hotel L Langworthy Lumber Co. M Manfred Cash Store Manfred Lumber Co Manfred Telephone Company Central Office N Nelson and Mead Nelson Implement P Post Office - Biever Post Office - West Side Post Office Q Quality Goods R Renden Blacksmith Shop Roble Hanson Department Store Rogers Lumber Rognlie & Sorenson Hardware Rudolph's Standard Station S Schlenker's Cafe and Bar Shirley Implement Shop Sletten and Elsaas Solheim Service Soo Line Depot Sorenson Hardware Sorenson Millinery W Willborg/Aasand/Soderback Store These histories were prepared by Manfred History and Preservation.

  • Kuskee, John and Emma | Manfred Updated

    John and Emma Kuskee Husband's Full Name: John Frederick Kuske Husband's Place of Birth: Lake Prairie, Nicolette, MN Husband's Father's Name: John Freidrich Kuske Husband's Mother's Name: Albertina Leistikow Husband's Siblings' Names: George, Anna, Martha, Amalia, Albertena, William, Henry, Edward, Lillie Wife's Full Name: Emma Gutzmer Wife's Place of Birth: Minnesota, USA Wife's Father's Name: Albert Gutzmer Wife's Mother's Name: Augusta Zabel Wife's Siblings' Names: Mary, Martha, Paul, Lena, Tillie, Theodore Children's Names: Elmer, Milton (Leona Sahr), Isla (Herbert Tessem), Elmer (Dorothy Brown), Walter (Virginia Belle Martin) They lived on the former Skogmo farm north of Manfred. They were active in the EUB church that was located in Manfred for about 5 years in the 1930s.

  • Frovig, Ole and Ida | Manfred Updated

    Ole and Ida Frovig Husband's Full Name: Ole Knut Frovig Husband's Place of Birth: Frestejeld, Viksness, Karmoy, Norway Husband's Father's Name: Johanes O. Frovik Husband's Mother's Name: Olava Brustad Husband's Siblings' Names: Gertrude, Jorgine, Johanna Wife's Full Name: Ida K. Eilertson Wife's Place of Birth: Vesteralen, Nordland, Norway Wife's Father's Name: Eilert Iversen Wife's Mother's Name: Anna Fiskenes Wife's Siblings' Names: unknown Children's Names: Ella, Oliver, Lena, Irene, Cora, Nora, Fern, and Pearl Photo: Wedding 1915 Ole K. Frovig was born May 31, 1877 in Norway and died April 1, 1931. He emigrated from Norway with his parents in 1894 to Buxton, ND. In the spring of 1895, Ole’s father Johannes filed on 160 acres of land near the James River, four miles west of Manfred. Ole was not yet old enough to file a claim. In the spring of 1896, the Frovig family moved from Buxton to Manfred in a covered wagon, using it for shelter until their one-room home was constructed and later sodded. In time, Ole was able to purchase adjoining land and later purchased his father’s farmstead. In 1909, a new two-story home replaced the sod house. Ida was born October 25, 1887 and died November 20, 1973. She was born in Norway, and immigrated to Iowa on April 16, 1910. Ole and Ida farmed with the aid of hired help raising grain, cattle, and geese until 1920 at which time they rented the farm to Mike Stoltz, and with their four children then moved to Wilmington CA. Ole worked in oil refineries there, and their twin girls were also born there. In the fall of 1923, they returned to ND and began farming with 60 head of cattle, 18 horses, a few hogs, and 500 leghorn chickens. Their last two children were born during this time. After Ole died, Ida remained on the farm for several years. Later, she began working at Bismarck where she met and married Ingebrecht Trovik a bachelor from Almont, ND on October 25, 1944. He died in 1952. Ida then visited her children, staying primarily at the farm of her daughter, Lena and Clarence. Later, she moved to the Halland Home in Rugby, remaining active all her years and an inspiration to everyone. Source: New Manfred News 9/2002

  • Aarthun, Erling and Helen | Manfred Updated

    Erling and Helen Aarthun Husband's Full Name: Erling Aarthun Husband's Place of Birth: Absarokee, MT Husband's Father's Name: John Aarthun Husband's Mother's Name: Gertrude Anderson Aarthun Husband's Siblings' Names: Gabriel, Martin, Bernhard Wife's Full Name: Helen Wilberg Aarthun Children's Names: Janice, Daniel, David, Ruth Erling Aarthun was born at Absarokee, Montana, on November 16, 1918 to the late Rev. John Aarthun and Gertrude Anderson Aarthun. He was baptized and confirmed in the Christian faith by his father. At the age of four he moved with his parents to Lignite, ND, where he completed his elementary and secondary school training. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia College and taught in public high schools for two years. On June 30, 1945 he was united in marriage to Miss Helen Wilberg of Trail, Minnesota, a fellow graduate of Concordia. He was graduated from Luther Theological Seminary on September 17, 1945. He accepted the Call of the Bowdon Lutheran Parish of Bowdon, ND in the fall of 1945 and was ordained on September 23, 1945 at the Harvey Circuit convention in Fessenden, ND. He served as Pastor of Vang Lutheran Church from 1945 until 1950. He passed away in 1973. The couple had four children. Janice (Pastor Chris Hallanger) lives in Hatton, ND. Daniel is a Capitol Project Manager for the state of Washington and lives in Olympia. He sings with the Seattle Opera Company. David is the 3rd child in the family. Ruth Ann Aarthun Syverson, the youngest in the family, teaches third grade in Billings, Montana. Taken 1970

  • Aasand Hardware Store | Manfred Updated

    Aasand Hardware Store Location: Block 2 – Lot 1 “triangle” Proprietor: Anton Aasand Year Started: 1916 Year Ended: 1920 at this location later purchased the Wilborg Store and had a hardware store there until 1925, when they moved to Harvey. History of Business: Anton Aasand purchased this property from Jacob Klev in 1916. It was a hardware store. When Anton installed a 32 volt Delco electric plant in his store he strung a wire across the road so the church could benefit from the electric plant. It was then that the kerosene lamps in the sanctuary were converted to electric bulbs. Later on Anton rented this place to Rudolph Peterson. It was used for a garage until it was destroyed by fire in about 1932. Star – Aasand Hardware Store Reference points: Red rectangle - Manfred School Blue rectangle - Vang Lutheran Church Purple rectangle – Post Office/Bank Green rectangle – Solheim Station

  • Olsen, Halvor and Martha | Manfred Updated

    Halvor and Martha Olsen Husband's Full Name: Halvor Sælid Olsen Husband's Place of Birth: Øystre Slidre, Opplund, Norway Husband's Father's Name: Ola Langedal Olsen Husband's Mother's Name: Ingebjorg Olsdatter Husband's Siblings' Names: Ola, Ola, Halvor, Kari, Berit, Knut Wife's Full Name: Martha Rogness Wife's Place of Birth: Manfred, North Dakota Wife's Father's Name: Nikolai Rogness Wife's Mother's Name: Everina Lunderness Hauge Wife's Siblings' Names: Selma, Elvina Lars, Sophie, Ole, Nora, Anna, Elvin, Ellen Children's Names: Norma Holwegner, Oscar Olsen Halvor Olsen was born in Øystre Slidre, Norway on December 27, 1889. On June 18, 1921 he married Martha Rogness at Manfred. Martha Rogness was born June 1, 1899 to Nickolai and Everina Rogness on a farm near Manfred, where she was raised and educated in a rural school. Halvor entered the service September 18, 1917. He was sent overseas July 31, 1918 and went into action September 12 and served in the St. Mihel and Argonne offensives. He was wounded October 23 in the Argonne Forest. They farmed in the Manfred area until 1939 when they moved into Manfred. They raised beautiful flowers and loved to entertain their family and friends. For many years Mr. Olsen was a trustee of the Vang Lutheran Church. Martha was active in the Vang Ladies Aid and taught Sunday School for many years. Both are buried at the Vang Cemetery north of Manfred. They had two children, Norma (Al Holwegner) and Oscar.

  • Ehni, Ellery and Arlene | Manfred Updated

    Ellery and Arlene Ehni Husband's Full Name: Ellery Roger Ehni Husband's Place of Birth: Chaseley, North Dakota Husband's Father's Name: John L. Ehni Husband's Mother's Name: Anna Hoefs Husband's Siblings' Names: Delton, Gerald Wife's Full Name: (1) Arlene Strauss Wife's Place of Birth: Manfred, ND Wife's Father's Name: Joseph H. Strauss Wife's Mother's Name: Ida Schnabel Wife's Siblings' Names: Kathyrn Gladheim, Donald, James, Elaine Weigelt, Lucille Wahl, Audrey Larson, Joseph, Richard, Judy Schudel, John Children's Names: Jeffery, Karen, Jeanne, Dawn, Kathy, Kay Ellery Jr., Cindy, Kim Wife’s Full Name: (2) Eleanor Zainhofsky Kim Ehni Opp , Kay Ehni Brown , Arlene Ehni ,Dawn Morcomb , Tic Ehni , Kathy Ehni Loegering andJeanne Ehni Rudel . Ellery Ehni was born near Chaseley to John and Anna (Hoefs) Ehni. He was once married to Arlene Strauss. They were the parents of nine children, all who attended school in Manfred. They lived near Manfred and were farmers. In 1995 he married Eleanor Zainhofsky. They lived near Fessenden. Ellery died in 2012.

  • Johnson, Leslie and Olga | Manfred Updated

    Leslie and Olga Johnson Husband's Full Name: Leslie Miles Johnson Husband's Place of Birth: Manfred Township Husband's Father's Name: John A. Johnson Husband's Mother's Name: Malena Johnson Husband's Siblings' Names: Alvin, Edna, Pearl, Miles, Russell, Everett Wife's Full Name: Olga Cecelia Opsal Wife's Place of Birth: Rusland Township Wife's Father's Name: Ole L. Opsal Wife's Mother's Name: Annie Opsahl Wife's Siblings’ Names: Martha, Lewis (died as a baby) Children's Names: Larry, Laverne, Jim, David, Dianne, Marilyn Leslie Johnson was born December 27, 1910, the fourth child of six (two others had died in infancy), to John and Malena (nee Johnson) Johnson. He grew up on the farm 1 ½ miles northwest of Manfred which his parents had homesteaded. He graduated from Harvey High School and attended North Dakota Agricultural College (NDSU) in Fargo. After college, Leslie farmed with his father and brother, Russell. Six children were born to this union: Larry, Laverne, and James (Orville) were delivered by Dr. P.A. Boyum, who had also delivered both Leslie and Olga. The doctor in attendance at the births of David, Dianne, and Marilyn was Dr. P.A. Boyum's son, Dr. Lowell Boyum. All of the Johnson children attended their parents' alma mater, Harvey High School, except Dianne who opted to go to Fessenden. At one point, the six Johnson children were attending six different schools: Larry at NDAC (NDSU) in Fargo, Laverne at Minot State, Jim at Harvey, David at Drake, Dianne at Fessenden, and Marilyn at Manfred. David had the most variety in schools, attending Manfred, Drake, Harvey, and graduating from Minot High School. Leslie frequently attended NDAC extension classes and was always eager to look at new and innovative farming practices. Besides small grain farming and dairying, he also raised capons, laying hens, and Hereford beef cattle. In 1945, he discontinued the cattle and other ventures except for crop farming and started raising a few hundred turkeys. This diversification eventually led to a turkey enterprise of up to 12,000 birds annually. In 1946, Leslie and Olga bought a farm half a mile northwest of the original homestead, and with their two children at the time, Larry and Laverne, moved up there. Leslie's brother, Russell, and his family moved to Riverside Farm where they lived for five years until relocating back to Seattle. Leslie and Olga then moved their family, now including James and the young twins, David and Dianne, back to Riverside Farm. Marilyn came along later. Both Leslie and Olga were the kind of people who really made a difference in the world. Leslie pursued innovative farming methods and pioneered a low-cost market feed for turkeys, which revolutionized the turkey industry. When the Federal Government attempted to institute marketing orders in an attempt to control animal agriculture, Leslie testified at a United States Congressional Hearing and was later told by North Dakota's Congressional delegation that his testimony had been instrumental in killing the marketing orders. Leslie was also active and served in leadership roles in church, community, and state organizations. Olga worked tirelessly to advance opportunities for handicapped individuals on the local, state, and national levels. She was a founder and charter member of both the North Dakota Association for Retarded Citizens and the Central Association for Retarded Citizens. She was a two-term president of the NDARC and served on the board of directors for many years. She coordinated and served on an educational panel which traveled to every area of the state working to establish Special Education classrooms in the schools, and she taught leadership training seminars across North Dakota. Leslie worked beside Olga in all these endeavors and they proved to be a powerful team leaving a lasting legacy which has benefited countless individuals. Olga was also committed to other organizations, taking an active part and holding office in many church, community, and state organizations. In keeping with their adventurous spirits, one of Leslie and Olga's favorite things to do was travel together. They traveled on five continents and in later years took close to 20 trips by cruise ship. Olga could read and speak three languages, and Leslie was known by family and friends as a "walking encyclopedia." Olga died July 30, 2000, and Leslie died February 2, 2002. Written by Laverne Johnson

  • Wiege, Arthur and Lydia | Manfred Updated

    Arthur and Lydia Wiege Husband's Full Name: Arthur E. Weige Husband's Place of Birth: Antelope, Grant, ND, USA Husband's Father's Name: Fredrick Wiege Husband's Mother's Name: Magdelena Scheuffle Husband's Siblings' Names: John, Adeline, Herbert, Anna, Louise and Anraine Wife's Full Name: Lydia Martin Wife's Place of Birth: New Leipzig, North Dakota Wife's Father's Name: John Martin Wife's Mother's Name: Mary (aka Maria) Grabatin Wife's Siblings' Names: Emma, Bertha, Arthur, Ereth, Florence, Reuben, Roland, Ruth, Anetha, Esther Children's Names: Dianna [Robert Carlson], Connie [Dan Hagestad], Douglas Lydia Martin and Arthur Wiege were married in Missoula, Montana. In the early 1950s they moved to Manfred, North Dakota. Their home was just north of Halvor Olsen’s home on the east end of Manfred in the LeGrand Addition. This house was later moved to Harvey. They moved to Harvey about 1956, and by 1958 had moved to Missoula, Montana. They attended the Nazarene church in Fessenden, and continued being very active in their church in their move to Montana. Art was a good carpenter. Arthur died in Hebron, North Dakota in 1995. Lydia died in Missoula in 2011. Both of their ancestors immigrated from Romania to the USA.

  • Fisher, Donald and Evelyn | Manfred Updated

    Donald and Evelyn Fisher Husband's Full Name: Donald I. Fisher Husband's Place of Birth: Manfred, ND Husband's Father's Name: Guy D. Fisher Husband's Mother's Name: Lena Omett Husband's Siblings' Names: Forest, Violet Frazer, Earl, Arnold, Donald, Kermit Wife's Full Name: Evelyn Ostrem Fisher Wife's Place of Birth: Tioga, ND Wife's Father's Name: Even Ostrem Wife's Mother's Name: Kjersti Heen Wife's Siblings' Names: Ivan, Lars, Bertha Satterlee, Henry, Ted, Christine Anderson, Arnt, Ingrid Reinholt and Ivar Children's Names: Larry, Darrell Don Fisher, 80, Harvey, died Saturday, April 9, 1994 at his home. The funeral was Thursday in First Lutheran Church with burial in Sunnyside Cemetery, both Harvey. He was born February 7, 1914, in Manfred to Guy and Lena Fisher. He grew up and attended grade school there and high school in Harvey. He served in the Civilian Conservation Corps in western North Dakota. In 1935 he began working for the Soo Line Railroad on the section crew out of Manfred. He married Evelyn Ostrem July 3, 1936 in Minot. They lived in Manfred. They moved to Sparks, Nevada in 1942 and later to Richmond, California where he worked for a railroad. They returned to Manfred in 1943 and later moved to Harvey. He continued working with the Soo Line Railroad as a brakeman and conductor. He retired in 1976. He then worked as the caretaker for the Harvey Golf Club for several years. He was involved in golfing and bowling leagues in Harvey. He was a charter member of the Wells Eagles Aerie in Harvey and was a member of First Lutheran Church in Harvey. *Source: Manfred News - Dec 8, 1938 - Mr. and Mrs. Don Fisher moved into the former Joe Tessem house this week. From Evelyn’s obituary July 22, 1996 Evey was born in Williams County near Tioga, ND to Even and Kersti (Heen) Ostrem. She grew up and attended school near Tioga. She married Don I. Fisher on July 3, 1936 at Minot, ND. They lived in Manfred, ND where Don worked for the Soo Line Railroad and she was a homemaker. In 1942 they moved to Sparks, Nevada and to Richmond, CA where they lived for a year before returning to Manfred and later to their home in Harvey, ND. Don died April 9, 1994. Evey was a member of the First Lutheran Church of Harvey. Evey enjoyed golfing, bowling and being with friends and family. Evey is survived by a son Larry of Las Vegas, Nevada; Six grandchildren, four great grandchildren, brothers Arnt, of Gresham, Oregon, Ted of Portland, Oregon, Henry of Oxnard, CA, sisters Bertha Satterlee and Ingrid Reinholt both of Seattle, Christine Anderson, Harvey. Evey was preceded in death by her parents, son Darrel in 1978, husband, brothers Ivan, Lars and Ivar.

  • Lithun, Ed and Pauline | Manfred Updated

    Edwin and Pauline Lithun Husband's Full Name: Edwin Lithun Husband's Place of Birth: Fram Township, Wells County, ND Husband's Father's Name: John Lithun Husband's Mother's Name: Martha Finstad Lithun Husband's Siblings' Names: Edward, Martin, George, Alice, Koni, Sigvald Wife's Full Name: Pauline Burgard Lithun Wife's Place of Birth: Orin, ND Wife's Father's Name: Peter Burgard Wife's Mother's Name: Frances Gisinger Wife's Siblings' Names: Julia Thomas, Tom, Frances Backmeier, Tillie Penzhover, Mary Schneider, Magdalena Woitte, Betty Morgan, Margaret, Barbara Wolf, Vernie Keller, Katie Lemer, Mike Children's Names: Rosella Kambeitz, Marcella Kalenske, Vernon Pauline was the daughter of Peter and Frances (Gisinger) Burgard. She grew up and attended school at Orrin, ND. She married Edwin Lithun on February 22, 1943 in Harvey. They lived and farmed in the Manfred area. She worked in the housekeeping department at St. Aloisius Hospital in Harvey for several years. They moved to Rugby where she worked at the Haaland Home. Edwin died July 17, 1969. She returned to Harvey and retired in 1984 as head cook at the Harvey High School. She was a member of Trinity Bethany Lutheran Church, the Eagles Auxiliary and the St. Aloisius Hospital Auxiliary, all of Harvey. She is survived by a son, Vernon of Williston, two daughters Marcella Kalenske of Jesup, Iowa, Rose Kambeitz of Bismarck; seven grandchildren; one great grandchild, brother Tom of Rugby, sisters Frances Backmeier, Yelm, WA, Tillie Penzhover, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis, Mary Schneider, Orrin, Magdalena Woitte, Balfour, Betty Morgan, Rasamond, CA, Margaret Fetting, Mount Lake Terrace, WA, Barbara Wolf, Towner, Vernie Keller of Harvey, Katie Lemer, Minot. She was preceded in death by her husband, parents, sister Julia Thomas, brother, Mike Burgard. Obituary: Pauline Lithun; son Vernon has died since this was written

bottom of page